Home News IWF Athletes' Commission Members Named

IWF Athletes’ Commission Members Named

The IWF has announced the members of its interim Athletes’ Commission, which will represent the interests of athletes on various IWF committees and have some say in changes to the IWF.

All members of the commission must be active or recently retired athletes in weightlifting. There are two members from each continent, one male, one female, plus a Chair.

The interim commission will serve until after the rescheduled Olympic Games in 2021.

The members named are:

ChairGreat BritainSarah Davies
AfricaGhanaForrester Christopher OSEI
South AfricaMona PRETORIUS
AsiaChinaLyu XIAOJUN
JapanHiromi MIYAKE
EuropeGermanyJurgen SPIESS
OceaniaAustralia Damon KELLY
New ZealandMegan Ann SIGNAL
Pan AmericaBrazilFernando REIS
CubaMarina de la Caridad RODRIGUEZ MITJAN

Dan Kent
Dan is the Editor of the Weightlifting House website. He is also a coach with Warwickshire Weightlifting Club and a referee.


You need to Login or Register to post a comment

Support Our Site

Whatever your budget, there is something in our store for you. All sales help us to bring more weightlifting content to you.


5' x 3' flag for your gym wall.
USA | Europe


Range of designs
USA | Europe


228 full colour pages of photo and stories of the best male weightlifters ever.
USA | Europe


210,000 PSI, IWF Knurling, Needle Bearings
USA | Europe

This website uses cookies to give you the best experience and help us to understand our users better. Agree by clicking the 'Accept' button. You can also choose to accept only certain types of cookies