European Championships 2021 – M81

Results and information for the Men’s 81 kg category at the European Weightlifting Championships 2021 (postponed from 2020)

See our European Weightlifting Championships 2021 hub for details of other categories. 

How the A Session Happened

Things did not start well, with two lifters bombing out on snatches and then Daniel Godelli (Albania) taking just one (failed) attempt at 152 before abruptly leaving the venue with the clock counting on his second attempt. He did not reappear and the other athletes who bombed opted to take no clean and jerks.

Nico Muller (Germany) took snatch bronze, just ahead of Andres Mata (Spain), who lifted in the B session.

Snatch gold went to Antonio Pizzolato (Italy) with 164 although he was run close by sixteen-year-old Karlos Nasar (Bulgaria), who finished a kilo behind.

Clean and jerks brought high drama as the reduced field rattled through their lifts, leaving Nasar and Pizzolato to fight for the remaining gold medals. A flurry of tactical changes left Nasar taking 206. With an unbelievably mature head for someone aged just sixteen, he duly dispatched the lift to claim a senior European clean and jerk record.

Pizzolato also hit 206 to win the gold in the total but, having hit it after Nasar, he left the teenager with the clean and jerk gold and the record.

NameNationEntrySnatch 1Snatch 2Snatch 3C&J 1C&J 2C&J 3best snatchbest c&Jtotal
1PIZZOLATO AntoninoITA365159162164195200206164206370
2NASAR KarlosBUL365158x162163194200206163206369
3SUHAREVS RitvarsLAT361157x162x163190x193x195157190347
4MULLER NicoGER355152x157158x188x188188158188346
5BEYTULA YunderBUL355150x153x153185196x198150196346
6IARKIN ViacheslavRUS360156x159x159184x191x192156184340
ERDOGDU CelilTUR351x151x151x151000
GODELLI DanielALB355x152x152000
ZWARYCZ KrzysztofPOL351x150x150x150000

Start list for A Session

11BEYTULA Yunder09.01.1992BUL81SE355
29NASAR Karlos12.05.2004BUL81SE365
36SUHAREVS Ritvars11.01.1999LAT81SE361
120PIZZOLATO Antonino20.08.1996ITA81SE365
141MULLER Nico02.11.1993GER81SE355
180IARKIN Viacheslav19.11.1997RUS81SE360
182ERDOGDU Celil05.12.1997TUR81SE351
273GODELLI Daniel10.01.1992ALB81SE355
305ZWARYCZ Krzysztof13.12.1990POL81SE351

For other sessions for this category, see the full start book.

Leave a Comment